Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in


Harrie Massey Medal and Prize

The Harrie Massey Medal, which depicts Sir Harrie Massey

The Harrie Massey Medal was proposed at the AIP Congress in 1988 and established in 1990 as a gift of the Institute of Physics, UK, to mark the 25th anniversary of the founding of the AIP as a separate institution in 1963.

The award recognises outstanding contributions to physics made by an Australian citizen working anywhere in the world, or by an Australian resident for work carried out in Australia.

The Award consists of a Medal and a certificate and is awarded biennually. The award will be presented to the winner at the AIP Congress in the year of the award. 

Eligibility Requirements

  • The nominee must be a member of the Australian Institute of Physics or the Institute of Physics (UK).
  • The nominee can be an Australian citizen who is working elsewhere in the world OR a non-Australian, i.e., not an Australian citizen, who is working in Australia. In the case of an Australian working overseas, the work for which they are nominated must be work that has occurred in or is contributing to physics in Australia.
  • The nominee must be nominated by a Proposer who is a member of the AIP.
  • The nominee, if successful, must be prepared to write an article related to the work for which the award was presented that will be published in Australian Physics and present an invited talk at the next AIP Congress.

Nomination Process

Completion of the Harrie Massey Medal nomination form . This nomination form includes the requirement to provide:

  • a one sentence citation capturing the nature of the work, as well as a longer citation (no more than 300 words) that briefly summarises the nominee’s contributions in relation to the award application. This is to be written for a scientifically literate lay person. This will be used for promotion/certificates if the nominee is successful. The citation is a crucial factor in selecting the recipient;
  • the names of three referees, with at least one external to the nominee’s present employer and not a former or current co-author/collaborator of the nominee;.
  • the Proposer’s details: name, address, contact number and email address and to be signed with Proposer’s usual signature and date;.
  • a brief curriculum vitae covering the nominee’s personal details (full name and correct title, present occupation and position of nominee, and full address), academic and professional qualifications, outline of career history, honours, and distinguished awards (to the best of the Proposer’s knowledge). A full CV and publication history is not necessary;
  • a list (with dates) of the nominee’s most significant contributions to his / her area of endeavour including the nominee’s 10 most significant publications.

Assessment Criteria

Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of:
  • the excellence and impact of their contributions to physics assessed by publication metrics and other appropriate measures for the field of research;
  • the track record of prestigious presentation such as keynote, plenary, and invited talks;
  • the record of patents and knowledge transfer;
  • the record of prestigious scientific leadership contributions such as service on panels and conference organisation.

Further Information

Nominations close: April 15 each nomination year.

Submissions should be emailed to

Only one medal will be awarded in each round.

Previous Winners

  • 2022 Emeritus Professor Jim S Williams, Australian National University
  • 2020 Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, University of Queensland
  • 2018 Professor Michael Johnston, University of Oxford
  • 2016 Professor Ray R Volkas, University of Melbourne
  • 2014 Professor Yuri Kivshar, Australian National University
  • 2012 Dr Anthony B Murphy, CSIRO
  • 2010 Professor Hans (H-A) Bachor, Australian National University
  • 2008 Professor David Cockayne, Oxford University
  • 2006 Professor Bruce HJ McKellar, University of Melbourne
  • 2004 Professor Peter Drummond, University of Queensland
  • 2003 no prize awarded
  • 2002 Professor Robert Delbourgo, University of Tasmania
  • 2001 no prize awarded
  • 2000 Professor Tony (AW) Thomas, University of Adelaide
  • 1999 no prize awarded
  • 1998 Professor Donald B Melrose, University of Sydney
  • 1997 Professor David Pegg, Griffith University
  • 1996 Professor Alan Snyder, Australian National University
  • 1995 Professor David (AD) Buckingham, University of Cambridge
  • 1994 Professor Rodney J Baxter, Australian National University
  • 1992 Dr Basil H Briggs, University of Adelaide
  • 1990 Professor Richard H Dalitz, University of Oxford

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software