Solar Terrestrial and Space Physics (STSP)


The STSP Group in the Australian Institute of Physics is focused on all things “space science”; the science of space, the science from space, and everything in between. The primary goal of this Group is to pursue research into understanding the space environment and its influence on human technology.

Our group’s specific research areas include: solar/heliospheric/stellar, magnetospheric, ionospheric, thermospheric and mesospheric physics, space weather, Earth observation, Earth and planetary physics, geodesy and positioning, space missions and space technology, and ground-based space science instrumentation, among others.

The STSP Group is also focused on the applications of these space research areas, which includes: human space travel, space vehicle design and development, propulsion technology, terrestrial and space weather prediction and climate modelling, Earth observation and remote sensing, precision navigation and timing services, satellite-based communications and data services, over-the-horizon radar and surveillance, space situational awareness, radio astronomy, and aircraft particle radiation environment.


Who can join the STSP Group?

Any members of the AIP who are interested in space research and applications can join the STSP Group as part of their AIP membership.


Benefits of STSP Group membership

The AIP’s STSP Group serves as a central point of communications and interactions for space scientists, space industry members and space science students within the Australian Institute of Physics. STSP Group members played significant roles in the development of the Decadal Plan for Australian Space Science and the Review of Australia’s space industry capability that preceded the formation of the Australian Space Agency in 2018. The STSP Group interacts closely with the Australian Academy of Science’s National Committee for Radio and Space Science, the Space Industry Association of Australia (SIAA) and the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) on the national level, and the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA) and the American Geophysical Union’s Space Physics and Aeronomy section on the international level.


STSP Group Committee

Chair: Dr Brett Carter (RMIT University)

Co-Chair: Dr Trevor Harris (Defence Science & Technology Group)

Committee Members: Prof Russell Boyce, Dr Carolyn Brown, Prof Iver Cairns, Dr Alina Donea, Prof Marc Duldig, Prof Fred Menk, Dr David Neudegg, Prof Iain Reid, Prof Colin Waters

Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community