Education Medal

Education Medal


The purpose of the prize is to recognize an outstanding contribution by an AIP member to University physics education in Australia.


The award was proposed as an initiative of the Physics Education Group at the 2000 AIP Congress in Adelaide.

General Conditions:

The prize is awarded at each AIP Congress to a member or members of the AIP who are judged to have made the most significant contribution to university physics education in Australia. The nominees must have been members of the AIP for at least 6 months prior to the close of nominations for the award.

The prize will be presented to the chosen candidate(s) at the AIP Congress and will not normally be awarded in absentia. The recipient(s) will be expected to present a paper at the Congress on some aspect of their work.

Only one prize shall be awarded, to an individual or team, at each Congress. If the selection committee considers that none of the nominations are of appropriate standard, no award will be made. The prize shall not be awarded more than once to the same person.  The prize will be a medal and a certificate.

Further information and application submission:

A call for nominations will be made in Australian Physics.  The next call will close on 1 June 2022.  Nominations, either from a State Branch or from an individual, together with all supporting materials, should reach the AIP Special Projects Officer by email no later than four months before the AIP Congress. Supporting materials will include the nominee’s CV, a citation describing the significance of the work, a justification of the nomination and names and contact details of at least three referees.

A selection committee, appointed by the Executive, shall determine the recipient of the prize from the nominations, taking into account the overall quality and significance of the contribution  and the creativity exhibited in the contribution. The committee will seek to judge equitably between contributions which focus on first year physics and those which focus on higher years.

The announcement of the winner shall be made at least one month before the Congress.

Physicists come from diverse cultures, backgrounds and experiences. It is our collective goal to identify and nurture the future leaders of the organisation and to ensure that they represent the wide diversity of career stage, ethnicity, gender, geographic location, institutional size, and race. Therefore the AIP strives for balance and diversity in its awards and as a result the AIP Executive has decided that an award will not be considered until we have received at least one male and one female nomination.

Previous Winners:

  • 2018 Dr Maria Parappilly, Flinders University
  • 2016 Dr Margaret Wegener, University of Queensland
  • 2014 Professor Les Kirkup, University of Technology, Sydney
  • 2012 Associate Professor Manjula Sharma, University of Sydney
  • 2010 Professor Joe Wolfe, UNSW
  • 2008 Dr Judith Pollard, University of Adelaide
  • 2006 No Medal Awarded
  • 2004 Professor Marjan Zadnik, Curtin University